David Sedaris

I went to see David Sedaris tonight. He read from his latest book and some new essays that he’d been working on. I’d only read one book that he had written, Me Talk Pretty One Day. David Sedaris - Me Talk Pretty One DayI had been given it by my now wife not long after I had met her. It was the first gift that she had gotten me. I was taking a French class and she wanted me to read the stories of him learning French in Paris.

I loved his wry humor and scathing insight. It was always good for a laugh even when it at inopportune times. I hadn’t gotten around to any of the other memoirs, but heard many of the other excerpts on This American Life. Many years later, when we bought our house together we had put together our books and separated out the dupes to sell. I saw that we had two copies of Me Talk Pretty One Day, but I put it back on the shelf next to the other one. I just couldn’t bring myself to sell it.

Leave a Reply

